Secondary Program


Secondary Program

Grade 6-12

Excelsior American School offers the Cambridge Assessment International Education curriculum from grade 6 to 12. Additionally, the International Baccalaureate Diploma Program (IBDP) is available as an option for Grade 11 and 12 students.


Our Secondary School programme places students on a path of self-discovery, learning and responsibility with an inspiring and positive learning environment. We encourage initiative and help our students to build character, confidence and cross-cultural sensitivity. To balance the core curriculum and reinforce skills, our secondary school students are allowed a range of enriching activities.

Teaching Methodology

Cambridge Lower Secondary

Age 11–14, Grade 6–8

The Cambridge Lower Secondary curriculum is progressive and flexible, helping the students to become independent learners. At the end of grade 8, students may opt to take the Cambridge Checkpoint Exam to assess learning in English, Mathematics and Science. These tests are used to monitor the learner’s readiness for the next stage of education. The examination also provides an excellent foundation for Cambridge IGCSE.

International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE)

Age 15–16, Grade 9–10

International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) is a comprehensive two-year curriculum. In a majority of the subjects, students have the option to choose between core and extended curricula. This makes IGCSE a course suitable for a wide range of student requirements. The IGCSE curriculum encourages a learner-centred and inquiry-based approach to education. IGCSE is recognized by CBSE, ICSE and State Education Boards in India as a qualification for entry to grade 11 or for other higher secondary education courses.

At Excelsior American School, we offer the IGCSE curriculum, with a flexible choice of subjects depending on student’s ability, interest and career prospects.

Assessment for Cambridge IGCSE includes written and oral examinations, assisted with coursework and practical assessments. Coursework is externally moderated by the Cambridge Board. IGCSE examinations are usually conducted in the months of May/June and the results are progressively issued in August.

Cambridge International AS & A Levels

Age 16-19, Grade 11 & 12

The A level is a highly regarded qualification that is recognized by universities in more than 140 countries. In this rigorous two-year curriculum, students must begin focusing on their specializations and preparations for higher education. In EAS, the students must choose a minimum of six subjects. The subjects that are chosen, are available at two levels (AS level) and (A-level) in Grade 11 & 12. The Advanced Subsidiary (AS) Level gives students the opportur study a broader range of subjects without committing to a comprehensive A level.

International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (IBDP)

Age 16-19, Grade 11 & 12

Excelsior and the International Baccalaureate Curriculum share a common philosophy. “A commitment to improving the educational practices of a diverse and inclusive community of students by delivering challenging, high-quality programmes of international Education that share a powerful vision”.

The International Baccalaureate Program aims to mould inquiring, knowledgeable and caring young students who may become part of a “global community”. The curriculum is made up of the DP core and six subject groups. Made up of the three required components, the DP core aims to broaden students’ educational experience and challenge them to apply their knowledge and skills. Excelsior works with other institutes, governments and international organizations to develop challenging programmes of international education and rigorous assessment. This program encourages students across the world to become active, passionate and inspired members of not one nationality or sect, but a global, sustainable community.